News tips and press releases may be sent to editor at All submissions become property of the Hollywood Investigator and deemed for publication without compensation unless otherwise requested. Name and contact information only withheld upon request. Prospective reporters should research our Bookstore.


About Us







Fine Arts


Media & Copyright


Public Square



War & Peace


Horror Film Aesthetics

Horror Film Festivals

Horror Film Reviews

Tabloid Witch Awards

Weekly Universe





Edited from a B-Movie Theater press release.  [May 9, 2003]





[]  B-Movie Theater, a retailer of low budget exploitation genre videos, invites fans to submit nominations for their 6th annual inductions to their B-Movie Hall of Fame.

To avoid nominees either already in the Hall of Fame, or who are not technically eligible, the site features two comprehensive ballots with 100 B-movies and 100 B-movie icons. Ballots can be accessed at Voters may select up to 10 choices per category. Voting is open through August 15, 2003. Winners will be announced in early September.

Nominees for Hall of Fame induction cover a broad range, including A-list stars who began their careers in B-movies (e.g., Mel Gibson, Stanley Kubrick, Jonathan Demme, Peter Fonda, and Argentine first lady Eva Peron), famous players whose careers continued in B-movies after A-list stardom evaporated (e.g., Joan Collins, Zsa Zsa Gabor, Buster Keaton, John Carradine, and Jack Palance), celebrated performers whose stardom was strictly within B-movies, (e.g., Roy Rogers and Dale Evans, Sonny Chiba, and Tom Neal), contemporary B-movie stars (e.g., Mark Dacascos, Debbie Rochon and, the Olsen Twins), and even industry supporters including the critic Joe "Phantom of the Movies" Kane.

B-movie choices cover all genres from the past seven decades, from 1933's "White Zombie" to 1999's "Razor Blade Smile."

"B-movies have long been ignored by the critics and award-givers, but audiences love them and have kept them alive all these years," says Ron Bonk, founder of B-Movie Theater and curator of the B-Movie Hall of Fame. "That's why we open voting to film lovers around the world. The B-Movie Hall of Fame is the moviegoer's way of saying thanks to great films, and the great people who created them!"


During the first five years of voting, the B-Movie Hall of Fame inducted: Dario Argento, Forest J. Ackerman, Samuel Z. Arkoff & James H. Nicholson, Mario Bava, Joe Bob Briggs, the Bowery Boys, Hillary Brooke, Bruce Campbell, Jeanne Carmen, William Castle, Jackie Chan, Lon Chaney Jr., Roger Corman, Wes Craven, David Cronenberg, Jamie Lee Curtis, Peter Cushing, Divine, Tamara Dobson, Godzilla, Pam Grier, Ray Harryhausen, George "Gabby" Hayes, Inoshiro Honda, Joseph Kane, Boris Karloff, Lloyd Kaufman & Michael Herz, Bruce Lee, Herschell Gordon Lewis, Arthur Lubin, Bela Lugosi, Jayne Mansfield, Russ Meyer, Jack Nicholson, Bettie Page, Parker Posey, Elvis Presley, Vincent Price, Ronald Reagan & Nancy Davis (Reagan), George Romero, Tom Savini, Emil Sitka, Barbara Steele, the Three Stooges, Lee Van Cleef, Mamie Van Doren, Jan-Michael Vincent, John Waters, John Wayne and Edward D. Wood Jr.

B-Movies previously voted for honor are "Assault on Precinct 13" (1976), "Attack of the Killer Tomatoes" (1978), "The Blair Witch Project" (1999), "Blood Feast" (1963), "Blood of Jesus" (1941), "Carnival of Souls" (1962), "Cat People" (1942), "Clerks" (1994), "Dawn of the Dead" (1978), "The Day of the Triffids" (1965), "Death Race 2000" (1975), "Detour" (1945), "El Mariachi" (1994), "Enter the Dragon" (1973), "Eraserhead" (1977), "The Evil Dead" (1982), "Faces of Death" (1978), "Faster, Pussycat...Kill! Kill!" (1965), "A Fistful of Dollars" (1965), "Flash Gordon" (1936), "The Flying Deuces" (1939), "Friday the 13th" (1980), "Glen or Glenda?" (1953), "Godzilla" (1954), "Gorgo" (1961), "Halloween" (1978), "Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer" (1980), "Hercules" (1957), "High School Confidential!" (1958), "The Hills Have Eyes" (1977), "I Spit on Your Grave" (1978), "Kentucky Fried Movie" (1977), "Killer Klowns from Outer Space" (1988), "The Killing" (1956), "The Leopard Man" (1943), "The Little Shop of Horrors" (1960), "Mad Max" (1979), "Martin" (1977), "Mondo Cane" (1963), "Monty Python and the Holy Grail" (1975), "A Nightmare on Elm Street" (1978), "Night of the Living Dead" (1968), "Pink Flamingos" (1972), "Plan 9 from Outer Space" (1959), "Reefer Madness" (1936), "Repo Man" (1984), "Shaft" (1971), "The Texas Massacre" (1973), "The Toxic Avenger" (1985) and "X, the Man with X-Ray Eyes" (1963).


The B-Movie Hall of Fame can be visited at

Media inquiries: Open City Communications, 212-714-3575,


"Hollywood Investigator" and "" and "Tabloid Witch" and "Tabloid Witch Award" trademarks are currently unregistered, but pending registration upon need for protection against improper use. The idea of marketing these terms as a commodity is a protected idea under the Lanham Act. 15 U.S.C. s 1114(1) (1994) (defining a trademark infringement claim when the plaintiff has a registered mark); 15 U.S.C. s 1125(a) (1994) (defining an action for unfair competition in the context of trademark infringement when the plaintiff holds an unregistered mark). All content is copyright by unless otherwise noted.